Countries Commit to Energy Efficiency

September 26, 2014 By Linda Hardesty

At the UN Climate Summit, a new Global Energy Efficiency Accelerator Platform was launched under the Sustainable Energy for All initiative. One of the initiative’s primary goals is doubling the global rate of improvement in energy efficiency by 2030.

The Platform includes five energy efficiency sector initiatives: vehicles, lighting, appliances, buildings and district energy systems. Additional initiatives are under development to promote energy efficiency in industry, the power sector and small- and medium-size enterprises.

In regard to lighting efficiency, more than 10 new countries are joining the 55 countries already committed to phasing out inefficient incandescent lamps by 2016. The countries announcing their commitments today are: Cook Islands, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nepal, Palau, Peru, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. As a result, they will collectively save more than 2 terawatt hours in electricity consumption yearly. Partners of the initiative include Australia, the National Lighting Test Center of China and businesses such as Philips Lighting and Osram.

For building efficiency, a new initiative is being launched to help city, state, regional and national governments speed up adoption of policies that promote energy-efficient buildings. National and municipal governments launching the partnership include Copenhagen (Denmark), Lima (Peru), Mexico City (Mexico), Milwaukee (USA) and Toyama (Japan). Among the business partners supporting the process are Johnson Controls, Velux, Philips and United Technologies.

A new district energy initiative aims to support cities or regional and national governments develop, retrofit or scale-up district energy systems. These systems consolidate the provision of heating and cooling to a group of buildings, often using waste heat from an industrial facility. Cities interested in joining this initiative include: Anshan (Liaoning Province, China), Betim (Brazil), Bogotá (Colombia), Focsani (Romania), Helsinki (Finland), Jinan (Shandong Province, China), London (UK), Milano (Italy), Nairobi (Kenya), Paris (France), Quito (Ecuador), Recife (Brazil), San Jose (Costa Rica), Santiago de Cali (Colombia), Seoul (Republic of Korea), Sorocaba (Brazil), St. Paul (USA), Vancouver (Canada) and Vaxjo (Sweden). Action by these 19 cities could avoid more than five Mt of CO2 emissions annually. Private sector partners include: Danfoss, Grundfos, Siemens, Vattenfall, Veolia, Climespace and Empower.

Leave a reply