NY Approves Community Energy Aggregation Pilot

On February 26, New York became the seventh state to allow municipalities to pool their residents’ and small businesses’ buying power. The state’s Public Service Commission (PSC) released a statement that it has approved a community choice aggregation (CCA) pilot program in Westchester Country. The Sustainable Westchester CCA will aggregate the purchasing power of residential and small commercial electricity and gas consumers from several municipalities across the county. The administrator will solicit bids from retail suppliers and negotiate on behalf of its participants. Customers that do not want to participate can opt out.

Community Aggregation Nationwide

Six other states allow CCA: California, Illinois, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Ohio and Rhode Island. The Local Energy Aggregation Network provides information on programs in these states and resources to assist communities seeking to build or expand energy aggregation programs.

What to Expect from Energy Markets in 2018
Sponsored By: EnerNOC, Inc.

Incident Management 101
Sponsored By: VelocityEHS

Intelligent Buildings and the Impact of the Internet of Things
Sponsored By: Lucid

Five Steps to HazCom Compliance
Sponsored By: VelocityEHS


Leave a Comment

User Name :
Password :
If you've no account register here first time
User Name :
User Email :
Password :

Login Now
Translate »